Being an iPhone user you must have seen a popup message in your phone informing you about the update available for your carrier settings. Most of us are unaware of the carrier settings update. We don’t know that what are these settings and either we should update it or just ignore it.


iphone carrier settings

Carrier Settings Update

According to Apple carrier settings updates are ‘Carrier settings updates are small files that can include updates from Apple and your carrier to carrier-related settings, such as network, calling, cellular data, messaging, personal hotspot, and voicemail settings. You may receive notifications from time to time to install new carrier-settings updates.’ It means these updates are important in terms of network and other cellular tasks. Carrier settings usually need update when you change the cellular network. These carrier settings updates are not like iOS, these are really easy to update. You just have to update the carrier settings and there is no need to reboot the device. Your iPhone’s carrier settings is updated.

How to Update the Carrier Settings

When an update is available you will see a popup message that you have a new carrier settings update. To update the carrier settings you have to click on Update. When you click on Update the settings are downloaded and installed in your iPhone without even any notice. The settings are automatically updated. However if you don’t want to update it at that particular time you can click on Not Now. Sometimes carrier settings are updated without seeking permission from you. You are just informed by a popup message that the carrier settings are being updated you just have to click on OK.

Looking for Updates

You can also check for the updates by going to Settings> General > About. The phone will check if there are updates available for the carrier settings. If there is any update available it will show up in popup message. You can choose to update by clicking on Update or postpone it by clicking on Not now. But if there is no popup message then it means your carrier settings are already up-to-date and you are ready to use your phone.