Viber is very famous voice messaging software for PC & mobile devices like other voice messaging services WhatsApp & Skype. Eventually if you fade up with Viber communication, there is an option to delete Viber account permanently with data.


We have also taught you how to delete your WhatsApp account, Facebook account and Instagram account, but we know that not everyone is interested in Facebook and Instagram.

For example some people prefer Viber for their daily conversation but they consider that how should they delete their data and deactivate their account.

So, in this tutorial we are going to tell you how to delete your Viber account and data. But first it is important to know the difference between deactivating and deleting account permanently.

Delete Viber Account Vs Deactivating Viber account

If you uninstall the Viber application from your primary device iPhone, Android or delete Viber, or if your account is inactive for any other reason then following will happen:

Your address book data will be removed from Viber servers after 45 days.

Your phone number (Viber account number) will be removed only after 1 year of inactivity.

Message and other data history is not saved to devices, it is associated with your account. Once your account is deactivated, your messages and other data will be deleted too.

If you have simply deleted account from device and now you wants to deactivate your Viber account so, for that you have to reinstall your viber app, than have to deactivate account and then delete viber app from device

Be sure that you have the latest version of Viber for iOS or Viber for Mac prior to deactivating your account.

What happens after I Deactivate my Viber Account

The consequences of deleting Viber account are

  • You will not appear in the contact list of other Viber user.
  • Entire data including your contact list, groups and messages will be cleared.
  • Your Viber account will be deactivated from all the devices you have logged in.
  • Viber out credit will remain, but since you have disabled your account, you will have to contact Viber support via email to transfer the credit to any other account.
  • Other accounts like Facebook and Instagram etc., linked to your Viber account will be unlinked.

When you deactivate viber off of your phone, viber will also be deactivated from the device such as a tablet as well.

Important note

Once your Viber account is deactivated, there is no way to restore any of your user data. So it would be better first to backup your viber chats. So, after you deactivate your account, the Viber application is nothing more than a space occupier in your phone so you can just uninstall it.

How to backup your Viber chats

  1. Open Viber on your Smartphone (iPhone, Android)
  2. Select more options in the tab area
  3. Select Settings
  4. Select Calls and messages
  5. Select Email message history

Once the backup file is created, select the application through which you would like to email it and tap to send it to yourself or any other email, the attached ZIP file containing Viber’s chat history.

Important

Once you’ve backup history, the viber messages chat history, as with Android and iPhone will be accessible on any text file reader. In the other words, the backed up viber messages cannot be restored onto your this device or other directly.

How to deactivate your Viber account on Mobile

Step 1: first Open Viber

Step 2: Then enter the “More” Options menu

Step 3: Now Select “Settings”

Step 4:  Select “Privacy”

Step 5: In last Select “Deactivate Account”

Now you can delete the Viber app from your smart phone

How to deactivate your Viber account on Desktop

Step 1: Open Viber application on your Windows PC

Step 2: Select the settings icon at the bottom left of the screen (Windows/Linux)

Step 3: A new window will pop up. Choose the Account tab to continue

Step 4: Now click on Deactivate Viber option

Step 5: A confirmation window will appear once you click on Deactivate Viber, click on Deactivate and your account will be Deactivated .this will remove all your data from desktop only.